Install Citrix Receiver in Xubuntu 12.04

One of my PC’s requirement is to connect to Citrix server at work via Citrix Receiver. Below is the instruction:

1. Download Citrix receiver (http://receiver.citrix.com/) > Linux >
Get the .deb client (64bit client – requires OpenMotif v.2.3.1)

2. Using terminal, go to the download file folder

cd Download

sudo dpkg -i icaclient-12.1.0_amd64.deb 

I was promot to accept EULA, press Enter

After that you should get an error, then run

sudo apt-get install -f

3. One more issue, use your favorite editor and open file below. I use GUI (leafpad) because it is much easier to do a search and replace.

sudo leafpad /var/lib/dpkg/info/icaclient.postinst

Search for $Arch|grep “i[0-9]86” > /dev/null
Replace with $Arch|grep -E “i[0-9]86|x86_64” > /dev/null

4. Run

sudo dpkg –configure icaclient

Done!~

Reference (this guide below is for ubuntu):

http://elgali.net/2012/11/15/how-to-get-citrix-remote-access-to-work-in-ubuntu-12-04/

This entry was posted in Linux and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Install Citrix Receiver in Xubuntu 12.04

  1. Eric Nicholson says:

    If I have a 32bit system, do I still need to edit the icaclient.postinst?

    • edam says:

      I just tried in a 32-bit VM, you don’t need to update the icaclient.postinst
      Tell me if it works otherwise for you.

Leave a comment